Athelstan Memories

Taylor County Historical Museum, home of the quilt squares

Taylor County Historical Museum, home of the quilt squares

Memories surround me of my trip to Athelstan Iowa last summer. I met some long distance friends I’ve made through the journey of tracing the origins of these 1934 squares. I made new friends. Every single moment of the trip is savored. My only regret … that it was not longer.

The Summer 2015 issue of Quilter’s World has a recap article of the presentation of the squares to the Taylor County Historical Museum. Unfortunately I had to cut the piece I submitted by over half. Also, the 16 pictures I sent with the feature were trimmed down to 8.

I’m itching to return, to visit with my friends in Taylor County. But … not now. It’s a cold day here in north Texas, 34 degrees, with light drifts of snow here and there. Close to us, but not a single snowflake in Roanoke. Our nighttime low tonight is 21 degrees. But I flip over to the Bedford screen on my phone. I see that it’s 10 degrees there right now, with an expected nighttime low of -8 degrees. Nope. I think I’ll wait to late summer/early fall before dropping in to visit.

Current day Athelstan. Georgia & Melvin Older had the Post Office here, with Leona's aunt's market wrapping around the corner PO.

Current day Athelstan. Georgia & Melvin Older had the Post Office here, with Leona’s aunt’s market wrapping around the corner PO.

I often think of how difficult the winters there would have been in 1934. Cold and snow, like now. But no central heating. Lots of fireplaces and wood burning stoves I imagine. Quilting would have been an important part of the women’s lives, not only for a creative outlet, but mainly to keep their families warm.

Since I’m anxiously awaiting the summer publication of Quilter’s World, which won’t be out for several more months, I’ll post a few photos here that didn’t get included in the final article.

Stay warm , my Iowa friends!

Farmer's Dotter - the quilters retreat where I stayed during my visit to Bedford, Iowa

Farmer’s Dotter – the quilters retreat where I stayed during my visit to Bedford, Iowa

Leave a Reply

