Iowa Bound

calico farbric1I’m on my way to Iowa!

Saturday, August 9th, I’ll be at the Taylor County Historical Museum to deliver the 1934 quilt squares to a new home.

Sniff, sniff, sniff. I’m truly not ready to part with these squares yet. I love these little slices of life that entered my heart. But — this is the 80 year anniversary of when they were created. It’s time for them to go home.

I AM so excited though to be able to meet some of the descendants of the women that made these squares. And Leona, who was represented as a toddler in a square. And Rosalyn, the daughter, niece and great niece of three women who made a square. This part I’m really looking forward.

I’m also looking forward to seeing the Bedford Courthouse, seeing the museum, and visiting the cemetery where many of these women now lay.

Sadness in saying goodbye to these mementoes from life long ago.

Happiness at meeting new friends, who I feel are part of an extended family of mine.

Reports and pictures when I get back!

Leave a Reply

