Tuesday Tales: Calico Connections #5 (hand)

It’s Tuesday Tales time! This week we’re writing to the prompt – hand.

Calico Connections continues this week. Nellie Morris struggles to keep her children fed and her family clothed in the difficult post-Depression years. Her husband, Charles, has his own trials keeping the family farm out of foreclosure. And the children, they just want to be kids and have fun, money or no money.

Enjoy the next segment. For more tales from talented authors, click here to return to Tuesday Tales.

******************************************************************************************************

pic_thimble hand quiltingDoris leaned in and looked closer at the little piles. She sifted through the small piles of assorted fabric bits and pieces, pointing out different patterns scattered throughout the piles. “Didn’t Gerald have a shirt out of this fabric? Those are from the quilt on your bed. That one looks familiar but I don’t remember from what.”

I pulled my sewing basket onto my lap, rummaged around in it and retrieved a small fabric packet. “Here’s a needle for you,” I said. “Take this little piece of wool here; fold it over like this and it will hold your needle for you.”

We sat together, heads bent over the table, searching amongst the scraps for appropriate pieces. Most of the larger pieces were leftovers from feed sacks but there were a respectable number of calicos in various colors and prints. Doris had a nice little pile accumulated to get her started.

“You need a thimble,” I suddenly remembered. “I think I have two in here.” Searching the sewing basket again, I discovered a second one hidden on the bottom under some spools of thread. “It’s a little large, but we’ll cut off a small piece of this feed sack and put it in the tip, like this.” Reaching for Doris’ hand, I tested it on her middle finger. “There! Fits like a glove now.”

Standing up, I called out, “Time for bed. Rex, put your toys up. Gerald, put your whittling up for the night.”

I gathered the remnants, scattered all over the table, putting them back in the scrap bag. “You too, youngin’. Off to dream land, it’s a school night.”

Doris headed to bed with a smile broader than I’d seen for a long time. She hugged her newly acquired treasure trove tight to her chest.

“Sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite,” I called out to the children. Doris ran back, catching me by surprise. She threw her arms around my neck and gave me a giant squeeze.

“Thank you Mother. I love my fabrics and sewing supplies!” she called out, heading to bed.

I hoped that delicious calico dreams awaited her. My own sweet dreams would come tomorrow when I got a rare trip into town. I bit the corner of my lip and hoped Charles would be in a good mood. Then maybe he would stop by Vivian’s for a quick visit.

15 Comments

  1. What a lovely scene between mother and daughter.

  2. What a lovely scene. I love the sweet simplicity of this story and the real connections you’ve created between these family members.

    • Thank you Sarah. I appreciate your stopping by and the nice words.

  3. Beautiful scene! I wonder what special treat awaits her in town.

    • Thanks Iris. Hmmmm … me too! Better figure it out before next week!

  4. What a lovely scene!

  5. this one is special and so nice.

    • Thanks Jillian! Tuesday Tales is a great motivator!

  6. Tricia

    Very sweet interaction between Doris and her mother. It’s awesome they have found an activity to share together. Great job!!

    • Thanks Tricia! Trying to imagine mother/daughter relationships in 1934 is more difficult than I thought.

  7. This gives a cozy, loving feel for the characters. Nice TT

  8. A Heart warming piece.

  9. I’m late to the party, but I love the warmth between them.

Leave a Reply

