Tuesday Tales: Calico Connections #4

It’s Tuesday Tales time! This week we’re writing to the prompt – shoe.

Calico Connections continues this week. Nellie Morris struggles to keep her children fed and her family clothed in the rough post-Depression years. Husband Charles has his own trials keeping the family farm out of foreclosure. And the children, they just want to fit in and be kids.

Enjoy the next segment. For more tales from talented authors, click here to return to Tuesday Tales.

***************************************************************************************************

-2-

A family is a patchwork of love.

~Author Unknown

 

quilt top 2After supper and clean up, Doris began her pleas to pull out the scrap bag.

I relented. “Go get the bag from beside my rocker and bring it to the kitchen, I’ll go get another lamp so we can see closer. Bring my sewing basket too.”

I dumped the contents on the kitchen table, mounds of printed calico and flannel cascaded over the surface in a kaleidoscope of colors. I began sorting the pieces into different piles. A shoe? It looked like Rex’s tattered baby shoe. ‘How did that get in the scrap bag?’ I muttered.

“I remember that one,” Doris said, pointing to a small piece covered with tiny blue and white daisies. “You made me a dress from that.”

“Uh-huh,” I murmured; “And before that it was one of my dresses. I cut it down one year to make you a new dress for school.”

The memories of the past ran though my mind with each scrap we looked at. Doris’ first dress, a shirt for Rex, pieces left over from baby blankets, even a small scrap left over from my wedding dress. A scrap bag contains a lifetime of memories, fragments of a life, bundled together in an old pillowcase.

16 Comments

  1. That is just so sweet. I remember my mother making quilts from scraps.

  2. I love the picture and emotions this scene evokes 🙂

  3. Agree …. lovely scene …. well done.

  4. What a lovely scene!

  5. I love the way you wove in the family memories along with the fabric scraps. Beautifully done.

    • Thanks Jean! I read the TT stories and take notes. I’ve learned already in just the few weeks I’ve been part of the group. This is a great group of strong writers.

  6. Such a sweet moment. I love that all the scraps bring back memories. Wonderfully written.

    • Thanks Sarah I’ve always loved the hidden stories behind the scrap quilts.

  7. Tricia

    Very beautiful scene! I can feel with the character – that’s how I feel when I go through my scrap bag.

    • Thanks Tricia. Scrap bags reconnect us with many past memories, don’t they?

  8. Amazing writing really enjoying it

    • Thanks Kathleen. And thanks for getting me in touch with this awesome group!

  9. The piece reminds of a children’s story that I read to my son. The patchwork coat. Great writing!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I think I remember The Patchwork Coat. I’ll have to re-read it, thanks for reminding me about it.

Leave a Reply

