Sneak Peek Sunday: Sunbonnet Sue’s for Doris – Part 1

It’s SNEAK-PEEK SUNDAY!

The rules are simple. Six paragraphs and six paragraphs only; of any published work or WIP. No more. No less.

This is the first Sneak-Peek Sunday I’m participating in. Sunbonnet Sue’s for Doris is a picture book WIP about these 1934 quilt squares from Athelstan. This is only the second go round of revisions, so it may change a little as I work with the manuscript.

Here’s Part 1, come back next week for the next six paragraphs. Be sure to check out the other wonderful authors participating in Sneak-Peek Sunday.

*********************************************************************************************************

SUNBONNET SUE’S FOR DORIS: Part 1

hand stitch deliliah ruscoDoris was a little girl,
who lived so long ago.
It was 1934,
Years before you were born, you know.

Doris and her brothers lived in Iowa,
In a teeny tiny town.
The little town was Athelstan
Way, way back – not now.

 

Doris was like most the girls
She liked her pretty things.
Watching Shirley Temple movies
Made her young heart sing.

They made a doll of Shirley Temple.
Doris wanted one so bad.
‘Give me one for Christmas please!’
Mom said ‘No!’ and she was sad.

Doris’ mama went to quilting guild
With worries on her mind.
‘I don’t have the money,’ she said
‘To buy a doll of any kind.’

‘I want to get her something special,
though a doll it will not be.’
The ladies put their minds together.
We’ll find something precious, you’ll see.

6 Comments

  1. How cute!

  2. I enjoyed it so much that it actually hurts a little to say, “Doris was like most OF the girls”.

    I hope you’ll continue the poem next week because I really want to read the rest of it.

    • Thanks for the feedback. Doesn’t bother me at all. I find my writing group is always finding things I didn’t catch and helping to tighten up my writing. If I’m going to get where I want to be, I have to keep learning and growing. Thanks!
      And yes, the rest will be continued next week.

  3. This was really great! Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

