Quilts … the more the merrier!

quilt top 1I’m a firm believer that one can never have too many quilts. Especially vintage quilts!

Today’s ‘Q’ post for the A to Z blog challenge isn’t about the set of 30 friendship quilt blocks from Athelstan. It’s about two quilt tops that I purchased with the quilt blocks. I was looking to purchase (hopefully) one of the quilt tops that were sitting in the basket. When I got three quilt tops AND the set of quilt squares, all for one rock-bottom-never-to-be-hoped-for price …. Well, I was dancing the happy dance all the way home!

These two quilt tops don’t tell the same story that the quilt blocks tell. Because they were purchased at the same yard sale, sitting in the same basket, and there weren’t any other quilting or craft items besides these, I’m fairly confident that they came from Doris’ household belongings.

What I’m not sure of is if Doris made these quilt tops herself, or if they were from her mother, Nellie Morris.

The yellow bordered quilt top is a variation on Grandmothers Flower Garden. (I’m not sure if there’s a precise name for this variation. If there are any quilters out there with a greater knowledge of vintage quilts, I’d appreciate additional information!) This quilt top is entirely hand stitched; every single piece!

quilt top 2The top made with the squares and strips is machine stitched. One block has a black stamped number, 4637M, which was positioned on the back side of the square. I feel it’s from a feed or commodity sack, but that’s conjuncture on my part.

The print styles look to be consistent with fabrics from the 1903s and 1940s, to my inexpert eye. It doesn’t really matter their age; I’m just happy to have them in my collection!

2 Comments

  1. Love patchwork quilts– great to see so many quilting blogs participating in the AZ challenge.

    Damyanti, Co-host, A to Z Challenge 2013
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

    • Thanks for stopping by Damyanti. This has been so much fun!
      I’ve found so many new blogs to follow and read. One of the new blogs I discovered, Completely California (a TERRIFIC one!) also posted on quilts for their ‘Q’ post.
      Happy A to Z’ing!

Leave a Reply

